Hopkinton Town Clerk/Moderator History (Edited: September 14, 2015)

The earliest history for Town Clerk begins in 1864. Moderators were chosen at each Town Meeting before 1909. In 1909 the Town Meeting voted to begin electing Town Moderator at the Town Elections. In early years, Town Meeting reports were not included in the Annual Town Report and only occasionally were Town Officers listed. The earliest Town Report to be found is for the year 1864, published in 1865. In some instances, the Town Warrant was printed in the report for the year before the actual Town Meeting, but no report of the Town Meeting activities was ever printed. Until 1909, Moderators were chosen for a particular meeting, at that meeting, and paid by the Selectmen.

The following is a listing of the Town Clerk's since 1864 to present:

1864 to 1869: **J.A. Woodbury**

1870 & 1871: **C. Meserve**

1872 to 1875: **B.F. Coburn**

1873: Town Meeting By Law adopted.

1876: None listed or mentioned in departmental reports

1877 to 1880: **Jonathan Whittemore**

1881 to 1889: Charles P. Wonderly

1890: John F. Fitzgerald

1891 &1892: **Charles P. Wonderly**

1893: Frank A. Morrill – The report for 1893 was included in 1892

1894: The Town Report ended December 31, 1894

1894 to 1901: **William E Powers**

1902: William E Powers – resigned July 25, 1902, & Patrick H. Dolan was appointed.

1903 to 1937: **Patrick H. Dolan**

1937: Patrick H. Dolan, resigned; James Power, resigned; Paul M. Keane was appointed.

1938 to 1949: Paul Meade Keaney

1950: Paul Meade Keaney, deceased; Robert T. Nealon was appointed.

1951 to 1969: **Robert T. Nealon** 1970 to 1979: **Mary B. Nealon**

1980: Mary B. Nealon, resigned; Maxine Adams and served as Interim Town Clerk

1981 to 1995: **Mary B Nealon** 1996 to 2011: **Ann M. Click** 2012 to Present: **Geri Holland**

Town Moderator's since 1892 to present:

1864 thru 1891 there is no indication in Town reports of a Town Meeting or of a Moderator. Although Bylaws adopted March 10, 1873 do indicate Town Meetings to be held. For several years, Moderators were appointed at each meeting. In early days, Town Meetings were held several times a year, usually in March, October, and November; sometimes in February or September as well. If a meeting carried over to another night, (adjourned meeting), it would usually be held the next week, not the next day.

- 1892: Town Warrant Art. #1 to choose a Moderator; although, there is no indication of an appointment.
- 1893: Town Meeting chose a Moderator; there is no name given and no indication of being paid.
- 1894: Town Meeting chose an acting Moderator, R.M. Fahey, March 5th & 8th. Also, R.M. Fahey was separately "paid" no date indicated), R.M. Fahey. (Report year ended December 31, 1894.)
- 1895: Town Meeting chose acting Moderator, R.M. Fahey, March 4, and November 2, 1895
- 1896: Town Meeting chose acting Moderator, R.M. Fahey, (paid for March 2, 1896)

- 1897: Town Meeting chose acting Moderator, R.M. Fahey,
- 1898: C.P. Wonderly, March 7, 1898 (paid); R.M. Fahey, May 28 (paid)
- 1899: No Moderator indicated
- 1900: L.D. O'Connell: March 5; D.J. O'Brien: March 22; J.F. Slater: Special Town Meeting
- 1901 1902: J.F. Slater
- 1903: J.J. Slattery, March 2
- 1904: J.J. Slattery, March 7; J.F. Slater, December 3
- 1905: J.F. Slater, March 6; Horace Phipps, November 7
- 1906: J.F. Slater
- 1907: John F. Slattery, March, October, & November chosen as temporary Moderator at March meeting.
- 1908: J. F. Slater, March & April; Horace Phipps (both paid by Selectmen)
- 1909: Special Town Meeting chose temporary Moderator, John F. Slater At the Special Town Meeting, it was voted to adopt the law providing for election of Moderator for one (1) year terms
- 1910: Wilbur A Wood elected at the Annual Town Meeting
 J.F. Slater elected Moderator March 7, 1910 and served March 7, 14, & 2, 1910.
- 1911: Wilbur Wood
 - Patrick Dolan, chosen as acting Town Moderator March 6, 1911; Adjourned March 10, 1911 Town Meeting and the September 28, 1911Special Town Meeting.
 - Wilbur Wood as Town Moderator October 19, 1911
- 1912 to 1918: Daniel J. Riley
- 1919: Daniel J. Riley, resigned, but served January 3, 1919; Selectmen decided not to fill the vacancy until the Town Meeting. No indication of who was chosen for that meeting.
- 1920: Daniel J. Riley was elected at the Special Town Meeting, January 17, 1920
- 1921: Daniel J. Riley, resigned, but served March 7, 12, and 19 of that year.
 Patrick Dolan was appointed Moderator for September 12, October 18, and December 12
- 1922: Daniel J. Riley, resigned
 - Patrick H. Dolan appointed acting Moderator, Annual Town Meeting
 - Wilbur Wood, Moderator, Adjourned Town Meeting
 - Jon J. McColl, presiding, November Town Meeting and elected March 5 Town Meeting. Joseph A. Buckley, Acting Moderator, Adjourned Town Meeting, Appointed March 10
- 1923 to 1927: Wilbur H. Wood
- 1928: John J. Madigan, Jr
- 1929: Clarence A. Wood
- 1930: William M. Horregan
- 1931 to 1946: John J. Carey
- 1947 to 1951: William H. Kirby
- 1952 to 1960: John E Thomas
- 1961: Edward J. Rooney
- 1962 & 1963: Charles M. Zettick
- 1964 to 1980: Edward J. Rooney
- 1981 to 1994: Charles M. Zettick
- 1995 to Present: Dr. Bruce Karlin

Town Clerk's Note: A sincere thank you to Hopkinton resident and member of the Historical Society, Karen Adelman, for researching this information to become a permanent record to be kept in the Town Clerk's Office.