Town Election Update – Caucuses coming up 4/12

Town Election Update – Caucuses coming up 4/12

To become a candidate a person must either obtain and submit nomination papers by securing the signatures of 50 Hopkinton registered voters by Monday, April 2; or a person may qualify by being the top vote-getter in one of the town political party caucuses.  The Democratic and Republican town caucuses will both be held on Thursday, April 12 in the Senior Center, 28 Mayhew St, Hopkinton. The Republican caucus is at 6:00 PM and the Democrat caucus is at 6:30 PM. Nomination signature papers are available from the Town Clerk’s office located in the temporary Town Hall at 80 South Street. Hours are M, W, Th 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM, Tu 8:00 AM to 7:00 PM and F 8:00 AM to 2:00 PM. Click on the name of any elected office listed below to read more about it.

Offices on the May 21, 2018 Ballot:

Board of Assessors, 3 Years, Vote for 1

  • Lesley Ficarri, Democrat (incumbent)

Board of Health, 3 Years, Vote for 1 – Contested Race

  • Michael J King, Democrat (incumbent)
  • Richard P Jacobs, Unenrolled

Board of Library Trustees, 3 Years, Vote for 1 – Contested Race

  • Nanette A Kenrick, Democrat
  • Stanley Pulnik, Democrat

Board of Selectmen, 3 Years, Vote for 2

  • Irfan Nasrullah, Democrat
  • Patrick Atwell, Unenrolled

Cemetery Commissioners, 3 Years, Vote for 1

  • Thomas Pratt, Democrat (incumbent)

Commissioners of Trust Funds, 3 Years, Vote for 1

  • Janine S LeBlanc, Democrat

Constable, 3 Years, Vote for 1

  • Francis D’Urso, Democrat (incumbent)

Parks & Recreation Commission, 3 Years, Vote for 2

  • Robert T Dobinski, Republican (incumbent)
  • Daniel F Terry, Republican (incumbent)

School Committee, 3 Years, Vote for 2 – Contested Race

  • Kristin A. Dykstra, Unenrolled
  • Amanda F. Fargiano, Unenrolled
  • Meg Tyler, Democrat

Planning Board, 5 Years, Vote for 2

  • Mary Larson-Marlowe, Democrat
  • Deborah Fein-Brug, Democrat

{List Updated 4-2-18}

Planning Board, 1 year, Appointed Seat

  • At the 3-26-18 Planning Board meeting, it was announced that member Kelly Karp was resigning. Due to the timing so close to the annual election, this open seat has been announced and then someone will be appointed for a 1-year term at a joint meeting of the Board of Selectmen and Planning Board. Interested parties must be a registered voter in the Town of Hopkinton and should apply by April 13, 2018, read more…

As we head into election season, eHop would like to remind our readers of our candidate endorsement policy:

The primary mission of eHop is community education on funding and policy issues pertaining to the Town of Hopkinton, Massachusetts including the Hopkinton Public Schools. Hence, eHop will strive to provide voters with accurate and detailed information on candidates running for state and local office, with a focus on each candidate’s position on both town and school-related issues.

It is eHop policy not to endorse candidates for public office. eHop board members are at liberty, however, to endorse candidates independently.

When eHop collects information from candidates for voter education purposes, eHop may add editorial comments to clarify candidate claims or statements that eHop deems to be deceptive or misleading, or that require further explanation.

On our Blog/Website:

Any eHop Board Member running for elected office in a contested race will not write or edit any website posts regarding the office for which they are running, including but not limited to our annual Candidate Q&A.

On Facebook:

In addition, due to eHop policy not to endorse candidates for public office, any endorsements for specific candidates will be deleted from our Facebook page.

Candidates are welcome to email a candidate statement or a link to their campaign website, which we will be happy to post to our website along with info about all the other candidates. Please send to

Read our full policies and guidelines…